Nominations for 2022 Award Now Open

Application Deadline: 25th November 2022

PCO staff have had to work incredibly hard this year and it’s important to recognise talented individuals who go the extra mile. 

The Destination Partners of IAPCO wish to recognise an individual who has gone above and beyond their position and has shown an aptitude for advancement in the meetings industry.

The winner will receive the prestigious Hero Award as well as an education bursary which includes travel and accommodation to attend either the 2023 Annual Meeting in Jerusalem or an EDGE seminar.

We recommend setting up an office poll and asking your team members to vote for their colleague who has gone the extra mile in 2022 and deserves recognition for their hard work.

Apply Now

Create your own user feedback survey

Criteria/ Rules of Entry

  1. Nominees can be any member of an account team within an IAPCO PCO company, such teams being operational, marketing, client management, financial or similar.
  2. Entries can be nominated by a colleague, a client, a supplier
  3. Entries are limited to one nomination per IAPCO Member Company, but any staff member, whether from a Member Company or a registered Member Office, is eligible.


The submission should include:

  • 50 words – biographical details of the individual team member
  • 250-500 words – abstract outlining why the team member has been nominated.
    • Their job role and range of duties and responsibilities
    • The contribution over and above their normal role and responsibilities
    • The impact their contribution has made to others
    • Why they would benefit from a scholarship to the Annual Meeting


The IAPCO Council will judge the entries, based on the above criteria, and without knowing the name of the candidate or their company.

The Award

  • Hero Award Trophy
  • An invitation by the IAPCO Destination Partners to attend the IAPCO Annual Meeting in February 2023 in Jerusalem (includes registration/accommodation/travel) or an EDGE seminar
  • Speaker’s slot at Annual Meeting/EDGE seminar
  • Use of the Hero Award logo on email signature, stationery, biographical details/CV

Apply Now

Current Winner

Hannah Jarvis, MCI, UK

Hannah Jarvis, MCI, UK

Hannah is an exceptional event professional – her passion and commitment to the industry and her dedication to her team and clients make her deserving of recognition. From leading the digital transformation of her clients’ events to championing sustainability initiatives across our 60 global offices, Hannah is an inspiring event talent making a significant impact through meaningful change.

Her role as Association Producer and a recent graduate with a 2:1 BA Hons in Event Management; she has gone from strength to strength to make her mark within the MCI team. Hannah’s focused on learning and mastering different virtual event platforms and leading on the implementation of these platforms for her healthcare clients’ educational programmes. Hannah’s also dedicated time to learn sign language and digital marketing to expand her skills – these are just two further examples of how driven and ambitious she is in wanting to keep on achieving.

Hannah is a sustainability champion, heading up the UKCSR team for the past two years, as well as the wider global agency. Hannah looks at the whole spectrum of sustainability, embracing intersectional environmentalism. Focussing not just on the environmental elements, but also emphasising the importance of people through diversity, inclusion, and wellbeing. People and planet are very much interlinked, and we need to be mindful of both. Hannah has been specifically chosen by global leadership to be part of the key task force looking at sustainable solutions and initiatives for our clients and talents.

Hannah’s role in the team is to research and develop a framework for inclusiveness and diversity in events. She is making recommendations on a range of event touchpoints, from marketing and pre-event to catering and virtual experiences; all the while having empathy at the centre of her work.

She has hosted multiple workshops and webinars in the development of this global framework. Hannah is championing a holistic approach when looking for solutions of how our industry can make a positive change. Hannah wants to encourage more conversation and awareness around inclusivity in events and how we can remove barriers to inclusiveness. What do we need to consider in relation to individual needs and how can experiences be designed, whether live or virtual, to not only be more sustainable but also empower wider diverse audiences to participate?

For Hannah, it’s about not being afraid to question existing industry processes, asking for alternatives and being a catalyst for change. Events and tourism bring so much value to communities and deliver important revenue for regions, but Hannah sees an opportunity for the event industry to reflect and reset. She wants to use her platforms to generate discussion and awareness and provide a call to action for our industry to lead the way, and more importantly to make the difference now.

Apply Now

Previous Winners

2021 – Hannah Jarvis, MCI, UK

2020 – Kyriaki Diga, AFEA Travel and Congress Services, Greece

2019 – Giulia Sarri, AIM Group International, Italy

2018 – Not Awarded

2017 – Not Awarded


2015 – Société d’Exploitation de l’ACROPOLIS de NICE

2014 – Congress Centre Alfândega – Porto

2013 – MAGIX Congress Logistics, Santiago

2012 – Barcelona Convention Bureau

2011 – Not Awarded

2010 – Internationales Congress Centrum ICC Berlin

2009 – Teichman Perchig International Ltd

2008 – Fiera Milano Congressi

2007 – Drukkerij Peters Amsterdam BV

2006 – Auditorium Parco della Musica, Italy

2005 – Prestige Corporate Travel, Glasgow

2004 – Palais des Congrès de Paris, France

2003 – AENIT Productions, Amsterdam

2002 – Forum Grimaldi, Monaco

2001 – EGL, Enrique Gozalbo Latorre

2000 – Parthen Meeting Essentials

1999 – Monte Carlo Grand Hotel

1999 – Teletech Congress Services, Denmark

1998 – Gerist SRL, Florence

1998 – Sound & Vision AV Ltd

1997 – Media Plan, Austria

1997 – Perton Signs, UK

1997 – Nest Audio Visual Services, Israel

1996 – ACS Audiovisual Conference Service, Netherlands

1996 – Meridiana Airline, Italy

1995 – Vancouver Trade & Convention Centre

1995 – Sheraton, Buenos Aires

1994 – Not Awarded

1993 – Swissair

1993 – Meeting & Congressi, Trade Press, Italy

1993 – Phillips Communication and Security Systems

Apply Now