Winner of the IAPCO Driving Excellence Collaboration Award 2019

Nominations now closed for 2019 award

IAPCO Driving Excellence – Collaboration Award, supported by IBTM Events

Collaboration is key to all that IAPCO believes. Behind each successful event is a solid and dependable partnership that seeks to deliver excellence. The IAPCO Collaboration Award celebrates these partnerships.

Rules of Entry

The collaboration is between an IAPCO member and another industry partner be it a destination, an association or client, a convention centre, a supplier or any other stakeholder

The collaboration can relate to:
• A bid
• A congress
• A long-term working relationship

• Entries must be nominated by an IAPCO Member
• Entries are limited to one per Member

The Prize

• glass trophy, presented at IBTM, given to both parties of the Collaboration
• IAPCO education vouchers to both parties
• plaques given to all shortlisted
• 2 tickets to IBTM Leaders’ Summit for those shortlisted
• speaking slot at following Annual Meeting for the winning Member (not the partner)


Using the online form located within the IAPCO Member Dashboard – the submission needs to include:
• 50 words – biographical details of the PCO
• 50 words – biographical details of the partner
• A 250-500 word abstract of the collaboration within the following categories:
– The reason for the collaboration – The case study
– The solution
– The outcomes


The IAPCO Council will judge the entries, based on the written submission noting the degree and complexity of the collaboration, along with any long-term outcomes. Those shortlisted will be invited to attend the IBTM Leaders’ Summit (2 tickets per entry) where the winner will be announced (travel and accommodation at own cost).

Current Winner

K.I.T. Group + KW Conferences = IAPCO Collaboration Award Success

The packed IBTM Leaders’ Summit was the perfect event to announce this winning formula. IAPCO was delighted to present the award to two IAPCO member PCOs who collaborated across the world to bring success to a global conference.

“The applications for the IAPCO Collaboration Award this year were exceptional. However, the judging committee all agreed that IAPCO Accredited members K.I.T. Group and KW Conferences highlighted the importance of trusted partners when delivering core contract events. This collaboration displays the value of the IAPCO network, where member companies communicate, exchange knowledge and work together to produce outstanding results for our clients” said Mathias Posch, IAPCO President

Jocelyne Mülli, CEO of K.I.T. Group GmbH, Germany, collected the award, supported by IBTM, on behalf of K.I.T. Group and KW Conferences, India, as the collaborating partners.

Once Hyderabad, India, had been selected as the destination for the 44th ISPAD conference, Core PCO K.I.T. Group needed to find a reliable local partner – an IAPCO quality accredited PCO. KW Conferences was the immediate choice. There were a number of challenges to be faced, such as operating licences, conference visa applications, financial regulations, receiving registrations in local currencies etc. Forming partnerships is key to delivering a successful event and K.I.T. Group and KW Conferences were a shining example of such a collaboration and worthy winners of the IAPCO Collaboration Award.

In a joint statement, both partners say: ‘It’s been a true pleasure to bring our teams together to work towards a common goal. The ISPAD 2018 Conference in Hyderabad has shown that two PCOs can work on the same project by sharing their know-how without competing, faithful to K.I.T. Group’s motto ‘Synergy & Competence’ and KWC’s vision of ‘Empowering Collaboration’.

The IAPCO Driving Excellence Collaboration Award, supported by IBTM is now in its fifth year, and attracted many submissions which also deserve recognition:

Shortlisted Candidates
• MCI Middle East and the IFSO, International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders
• Japan Convention Services, Inc, the International Gastric Cancer Association, and the Korean Society for Gastric Cancer

Highly Commended
• MCI The Netherlands, MCI UK and One Young World
• AIM Group International and JPdL International


Winner of 2018 Award
Arinex and The Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society (IMC) were the celebrated winners of the IAPCO Driving Excellence Collaboration Award announced at the IBTM Leaders Summit on Monday, who also support the Award.

The award entry emphasized the importance of a collaborative approach between the PCO, client and all the sponsors and stakeholders that had excellent results.
Simon Ringer, Chair of IMC19 said “This meeting is a highly technical meeting and the technical performance is up there with anything we care to mention. The industry has shown up in droves. We’ve had record breaking [sponsorship and exhibition] numbers and of course the collaboration has been deeply impactful.”
“We are delighted to present the Collaboration award to Arinex and The Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society. Their application highlighted one of the many benefits of working with a PCO – the 360 approach to solving challenges using solid expertise and going above and beyond congress delivery” said Mathias Posch, President of IAPCO

The IAPCO Driving Excellence Awards are in there fourth year, which attracted exceptional submissions. Three finalists each created a video outlining their collaboration that were presented to IAPCO’s Destination Partners for the final vote.

The results were close, and both runners-up deserve recognition for their collaborative efforts, OIC Group, Italy & Firenze Convention Bureau and MCI Group Brazil & ABDID, Brazilian Association of Infrastructure and Base Industries.

AIM Group International and SIAARTI

Winner of 2017 Collaboration Award

Finalist – 2017 Collaboration Award

Finalist – 2017 Collaboration Award

International Conference Services Ltd., Tourism Vancouver & Vancouver Convention Centre

Winner of 2016 Collaboration Award

Finalist – 2016 Collaboration Award

Finalist – 2016 Collaboration Award