‘Surviving and Thriving!’, the theme of the IAPCO Day was reflected in the highest audience figure for an IAPCO General Assembly, to date.  The virtual event took place on Monday 15 February 2021 and was joined by IAPCO members and partners from over 42 different countries.

‘At this time, more than ever, we felt the importance of bringing our IAPCO family together, to share the association’s updates, acheivements, our strategic developments and provide educational content in the form of high-quality keynote speakers Brian Solis and Baroness Valerie Amos.’ said Martin Boyle, CEO

Ori Lahav, IAPCO President reported that the association had retained 97% of their members in 2020, which was a huge achievement. ‘This figure demonstrates the value of IAPCO membership to our community. In a challenging year, the Association worked hard to ensure that we provided regular opportunities to connect, share experiences and learn through a series of impact dialogues, member exchanges and complimentary access to the webEDGE platform.  The formation of the Strategic Global Task Force of National PCO Associations has also been a huge success in bringing together the combined expertise to create advocacy guidelines for international PCOs.’

IAPCO Council

In a change of Standing Orders approved by the IAPCO members, Ori Lahav will have an extension of his Presidency to February 2023, Mathias Posch will remain Immediate Past President until February 2022 at which time, the election for President-Elect will also take place.

Jan Tonkin, who has served on IAPCO Council since 2007 has stepped down from this position. Ori Lahav acknowledged her many years of dedicated service.  ‘Jan has always been an active, engaged member of Council. During her time as the Chair of Training Academy she has completely revamped the IAPCO education programme creating the successful IAPCO EDGE Seminars.

In 2020, we saw the audience for IAPCO educational events triple compared to the previous year as we embraced the new virtual world with the webEDGE platform, dialogues and virtual EDGE.   I would like to sincerely thank Jan on behalf of myself, HQ, Council and the IAPCO community for all your achievements and dedication.’

IAPCO Council elections were held during the General Assembly wherein the Council welcomed one newly elected member – Sissi Lygnou from AFEA, one re-elected member – Nicolette van Erven and one co-opted Annual Meeting Host representative member – Alain Pittet.

IAPCO Council 2021-2022

Ori Lahav, Kenes Group, Israel

Keith Burton, African Agenda, South Africa

Chair of Training Academy & Immediate Past President:
Mathias Posch, International Conference Services


Barbara Calderwood, MCI, UK

Monice Freire, AIM Group International, Portugal

Sissi Lygnou, AFEA S.A Travel & Congress Services, Greece

Sarah Markey-Hamm, ICMS Pty Ltd, Australia

Alejandro Ramirez Tabche, Business Travel Consulting, Mexico

Nicolette van Erven, Congress by design bv, Netherlands

Alain Pittet, Host Representative of the Annual Meeting Rome 2022 (co-opted), Ega worldwide congresses & events, Italy