Convention Industry Council (CIC) announces its newest inductees into the CIC Hall of Leaders

The Convention Industry Council (CIC) announces its newest inductees into the CIC Hall of Leaders. The inductees represent influential leaders who have shaped the industry over a lifetime of accomplishments, whose contributions have left an indelible impression on the industry, and who will be inducted during the 2013 Hall of Leaders Gala to be held on October 13, in Las Vegas, prior to the IMEX America tradeshow. “There is tremendous talent in our industry, and the 2013 class of Hall of Leaders clearly meets the criteria for this award; all have shown remarkable leadership and whose prolific work continues to advance the field,” said Karen Kotowski, CAE, CMP, Chief Executive Officer for the Convention Industry Council. Nominations were submitted by CIC member organisations or the general industry community.

Only those who have substantially contributed to the industry and whose efforts continue to shape it qualify for nomination into the CIC Hall of Leaders. Five of the nominees are to be inducted, of which one, nominated by the International Association of Professional Congress Organisers (IAPCO), is Jorge E. Castex, Honorary Member and Past President of IAPCO, Honorary President, COCAL and formerly founder and President of Congresos Internacionales S.A. in Argentina. Jorge Castex is a pioneer of the modern PCO—Professional Congress Organiser. He founded one of the original PCO companies in the early 1970s, Congresos Internacionales S.A. He was a founding member of the Argentine Association of Congress & Exhibitions Organisers (AOCA), a precursor to COCAL, the Latin American Federation of Professional Congress Organisers. Foreseeing the need for an international network, Castex joined the fledgling PCO founding fathers in the development of IAPCO, serving as its president for two non-consecutive terms.

A champion of education, Castex was a driving force behind the IAPCO Training Academy as chair for ten years, and has dedicated 20 years to lecturing and training for the academy’s national/regional seminars as well as the prestigious Wolfsberg Seminar. He was appointed Honorary Member of IAPCO in 2010 and has very recently retired from the activity. “I was surprised and honoured to receive such a nomination”, said Jorge Castex, “this also at the same time is a recognition of the efforts done by IAPCO and us during all these past years.” Jorge Castex is the second only member of IAPCO to be inducted into the Hall of Leaders, the first being Roger Tondeur of MCI in 2007. In addition to Jorge Castex, the other 2013 Hall of Leaders honorees are:

  • Eduardo Chaillo, CMP, CMM: Nominated by International Congress and Convention Association (ICCA)
  • Peggy Daidakis, Executive Director, Baltimore Convention Center: Nominated by the Baltimore Convention Center Staff
  • Liz Erikson, Executive Director, Meetings & Incentives, Fairmont-Raffles-Swissotel: Nominated by Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA) • Stephen Powell, Senior Vice President, Worldwide Sales, Intercontinental Hotels Group: Nominated by Meeting Professionals International (MPI)