innovation award


2015 Award: Applications closed


IAPCO would like to recognise the pioneering work of our four Founding Fathers. To celebrate the tremendous efforts of these individuals, we have created an award to commend the most creative and high achieving young member of staff of an IAPCO member company. This Award is supported by IMEX.


• Entries must be nominated by the IAPCO Company Member.
• Entries are limited to one staff member per Member, but any staff member, whether from a Company Member, International Office Member or National Office Member, is eligible.
• Deadline for submissions is 12 December [annually]


Successful entries will be the ones that best meet selected elements of the criteria below:
• degree of innovation assessed as the innovativeness of the delivery of a congress; of the approach and solution to a challenge; of a proposed product, service, process, technology; or of the implementation, organisation or marketing models underpinning this solution. Innovations can be understood as genuinely new ideas as much as new or improved ways of delivering congresses to facilitate the communication within a global community.
• potential impact assessed as the potential to create impact nationally or international by putting the spotlight on creating a legacy from the positive outcomes of a congress.
• service delivery assessed as the quality of service delivered to the client beyond the call of duty; support and level of service that assisted the client in superseding the objectives of the congress and/or the organisation.
• potential for sustainability and scale assessed as the likeliness that ideas/innovations can be sustained and have significant, long-lasting and increasing impact and as their capacity to be inspirational for others.


To enter the competition, the IAPCO company representative should nominate the candidate by submitting a 500-word document outlining the candidates innovation referring to the criteria set out above. The document can contain up to 3 graphics or images and should include a 50 word biographical detail of the candidate.  Entries should be submitted by email to Sarah Storie-Pugh as a PDF document or submit on-line   DEADLINE 12 DECEMBER


The following weights apply to the judging criteria:
• degree of innovation – 50%
• service delivery – 20%
• potential impact – 20%
• potential for sustainability and scale – 10%

Up to a maximum of 3 candidates will be shortlisted from the submissions by Council and the Company Member who made the nomination will be notified no later than 31 December.

The final submission, by way of a 3-minute video from the candidate themselves, will be shown at the General Assembly in February.


The winner will be announced at the IMEX Frankfurt Gala Evening and will receive by way of recognition one free registration place, including accommodation, at one of  any of the IAPCO education programmes (valid for an 18 month period), and will be entitled to display the Award Mark on their business cards, stationery, biographical details and cv.


Andrew Dergousoff, of ICS Canada, was announced as the winner of the inaugural IAPCO Innovation Award at the IMEX Gala Evening at Frankfurt Opera House in May. The new award for PCOs attracted numerous applications, and the three short-listed nominees were presented by Council to the audience at IAPCO’s Annual Meeting in Lisbon earlier this year, for delegates to vote on the nominees’ innovative ideas, implementation, and successful contributions to their companies.

In addition to Andrew, and his work on virtual meetings, the short-list included Magdalina Atannassova, of AIM Group Bulgaria, for work involving social media, and Dohyun Kim, of MECI Korea, who worked on public relations strategies. All three candidates showed very high levels of understanding of the meetings business, along with a great capacity for integrating innovative solutions, but there could be only one winner. “I could not be more delighted,” said an overjoyed Andrew. “It was a real honour just to be shortlisted, but to win…that was something I only dreamt of. It is a fantastic recognition.”

The IAPCO Innovation Award began last year following the deaths of the final two ‘Founding Fathers’ of IAPCO. To honour their legacy, IAPCO introduced this new award to recognise the innovative ways in which the younger generation of IAPCO members, aged 35 years or less, deal with the challenges faced by international PCOs. “To celebrate the tremendous efforts of these four individuals [the Founding Fathers], we have created an award to commend the most creative and high-achieving young members of staff at IAPCO member companies,” said Michel Neijmann, President of IAPCO. “It is vital we encourage and reward those who are the future of the profession.” IMEX also embraced the opportunity to support this initiative. “We are delighted to support IAPCO in this way,” commented Carina Bauer of IMEX. “The advancement of youth, creativity and education are all elements of this industry with which we are happy to be involved. We wish the applicants good luck in this innovative challenge.”

Considering the innovations of this year’s entrants, it is clear to see that the future of PCOs is in good hands…which also means that the industry itself is a winner!

052015_IMEX_Gala_Andrew_Mathias (3)



Award for PCOs

in memory of the

Founding Fathers

(From Left to right)
Albert Cronheim, Eric Friis, Fay Pannell, Jean Destrée